• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

First camera (1 Viewer)

mtaylor87

Hi guys,

Been birdwatching for 4 months ish, birthday just around the corner and I'm requesting a camera...

Budget is quite a slim £150

I'm looking for something that will take good quality pics (obv) of small and large birds, do I'm guessing a decent zoom is in order?

I think I should point out that I lack any kind of camera control as I shake constantly, probably because of the amount of caffeine and alcohol I drink but that's another issue.

Total beginner with this so I'm sure you can guide me in the right direction.

Would recommend a travel zoom such as the Canon SX240.
They take good pictures, offer excellent zoom, 20x stabilized, from 25 to 500mm, in a pocket sized body. This model is now replaced by the SX280, but it still works very well and is within your budget.

Would recommend a travel zoom such as the Canon SX240.
They take good pictures, offer excellent zoom, 20x stabilized, from 25 to 500mm, in a pocket sized body. This model is now replaced by the SX280, but it still works very well and is within your budget.

Just taken a little look. My knowledge of cameras is hugely basic but it says it's 20x zoom. My sister has a 20x zoom that I tried out taking pictures of birds on my garden feeder about 8 metres away and I couldn't get anything of a decent quality... The 25 to 500mm... What does that stand for?

I would agree with the canon sx40, great image quality and zoom, and you should be able to pick one up for close to that budget.