• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Another Bino Vs Scope query? (2 Viewers)

sudsdetailing

Worserer than Andy : )
Wales
Apologies if I've missed other threads. I'm a newbie starting out again after a lifetime gap and currently have a very nice pair of Swaro SCL which I picked up during lockdown. However. I realise that all of my birding will be coastal, estuary, wetland reserve viewing and have suddenly thought that a scope would serve my purpose much better for the next 18 months or so. I can't afford extra expense so would have to trade by Bino for a scope ( and possibly pick up a cheap pair of binos in 18 mths time maybe). I wouldn't be walking very far so the extra weight of tripod/scope shouldn't be a problem. Does my idea sound OK or am I missing something? Thanks 👍

I would suggest you sell your Swaro SLC. With that money you should be able to buy decent binoculars and a decent scope and tripod. You will sacrifice a bit of image quality, but you will be able to identify birds just fine, and since you'll have a scope, you can identify a lot more birds.

When I was actively using either a pair of binoculars or a spotting scope while on foot viewing wildlife, there was always that subject that was just to far away. Yes I agree, I would stick with a binocular for now if I were you. Whether you trade in your Swarovski or buy another binocular, I would buy the highest magnification binocular you could comfortably hold steady before purchasing that scope.

Keep the binoculars and look out for an inexpensive second hand ‘scope.