• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Birding Etiquette (2 Viewers)

birdergraeme

Hi

I'm brand new to birding, so is there any general rules so I don't upset others.

For example, clothing - what do you wear? Is there certain things you don't wear - loud tshirts for example?

just not wanting to step on anyones toes or frighten the wildlife.

thanks

I never understand why birdwatchers are dressed for the jungle-camouflage hat,jacket and trousers - when spending a leisurely day in the hides of Leighton Moss!
Always makes me chortle when I witness the annual twitch at a well known Hawfinch site.The bird watchers turn up in head -to -toe green.Whilst waiting for someone to spot a Hawfinch for them, they stand in the middle of the car park talking at the top of their voices!
I mean,what is the point!

Last edited:
Hi

I'm brand new to birding, so is there any general rules so I don't upset others.

For example, clothing - what do you wear? Is there certain things you don't wear - loud tshirts for example?

thanks

Avoid unnecessary movement and noise; that scares birds away more than anything else. Also, show consideration for other people. There, that's you being better than most birdwatchers!

Hi

thanks
Regarding ethics, the ABA guidelines linked above cover most of the issues.