• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Change to Zeiss SFL 10x40 or stick with my Leicas (1 Viewer)

mungot

United Kingdom
Hi all, first time here. I've got some Leica BN 10x42 which were my dad's and I've been using them for about 5 years. I'm guessing they are about 20 years old. I really like them for birding but they are sooo heavy. I'm looking to change for the Zeiss SFLs as I want similar quality and spec without breaking the bank, but in a lighter format, and these seem to get good reviews. Has anyone got any bits of advice when comparing the two, or experience of the SFLs in this size? Obviously, I'll also take a trip to my local shop to try them out and see how they feel.

Thanks for any help, Jim

Hi Jim.
Very different views through these two.

I'm a BN fan, great colours, amazing build quality. Classic bino for good reason. You're spoilt from the off!!!
You can get them serviced free by Leica, but of course they can't shave any weight off.

The SFL's are fantastic binos, but a much cooler colour cast in my opinion.
It really is best to go and test, and trust me, you will get a million and one different opinions coming your way.
You could consider 32mm binos if weight is such an issue, poss 8x, superb format, and the light gathering difference is not so very much.
Generally good field of view, good depth of focus, and a steadier image.
I've tried most formats, and i'm generally happier with 8x, and recently looked at 7x, and loved those too!
Let us know how you go.