• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Compact Digital Camera for 80mm Swarovski (1 Viewer)

Mac

I just purchased an 80mm Swarovski with their compact camera adaptor. The directions are a bit vague, to say the least.

What cameras would work with this setup? It appears I need a camera and an adaptor, which the directions say should be available in a photo shop (we don't have one here).

I have a Canon 10D, but understand the difficulty of hooking such a heavy camera to a scope. I don't plan on using this camera for digiscoping, but mention it to let you know I'm an experienced photographer (about 30 years worth, off and on).

Any suggestions? The only thing I've seen suggested so far is the 900 series Nikons, which are discontinued, or the new Nikon CP-4500. I'm a Canon fan - would the G5 work?

Mac Knight
http://www.macknight.addr.com
photos at www.pbase.com/macknight

Hi Mac,
As you've found out, the vast majority of digiscopers use the Nikon coolpix cp9**/4500 cameras....you have to realise that there's a reason for this and it's not brand loyalty. The lens design of the cp9**/4500 is almost perfect to capture the image from a scope's eyepiece with minimal vignetting, in addition it's a fixed lens so that you can mount it on to an adapter very easily (in fact straight on to the 28mm ring supplied with the Swaro' adapter).