• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Feeder attracting single species (2 Viewers)

kuzeyy

Turkey
Hello.
I’m not new to birding but I’m really new to bird feeding. I set up several bird feeders with different foods. However, the only thing I get are at least 5 individuals of great tits (Parus major). We have many more species (finches etc…) in the area but they don’t visit the feeders. They perch high up and never get down to the feeders. How can I attract them? Is it possible that the feeder is too close to my window? Also the feeder is a little bit hidden by the canopy.

Hello.
I’m not new to birding but I’m really new to bird feeding. I set up several bird feeders with different foods. However, the only thing I get are at least 5 individuals of great tits (Parus major). We have many more species (finches etc…) in the area but they don’t visit the feeders. They perch high up and never get down to the feeders. How can I attract them? Is it possible that the feeder is too close to my window? Also the feeder is a little bit hidden by the canopy.
Could well be. They can be a bit shy at first, till they start to regularly visit and feed undisturbed. Also, what types of seed are you offering. I suggest placing a multi port tube feeder away from the house and filling with sunflower hearts. See how that works.

It can take time for birds to get used to new feeders, too. How close to your window is the feeder? My feeders are about 3-4 metres from the house.