• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Noctivid 8x42- wow! (1 Viewer)

samwise2010

Canada
I have been using a monarch 8x42 (non ED glass) for the last 9 years, and they have served me well... not the sharpest but nice size, and weight, decent image quality for what I believe was $250 when I bought them. I have been thinking of upgrading and I had every intention of picking up an 8x42 NL pure. I had the chance to view through them this spring from a friend who pick some up, and I didn't really like the rolling ball effect as I was scanning the trees. I've never handled swarovskis before (except some curios I bought recently), so I guess I'm not used to that effect, and maybe it is something I could have gotten used to but I didn't want to chance feeling queezy doing something I love so much, and take so much joy in - bird watching.