• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Barn Owl question / High Flyer note (1 Viewer)

StevieEvans

This is my first year of studying Barn Owls, having switched from 20 years "on & off" on Leo's, so have several questions.

Q:How long after fledging are the young dependent on:-
the parents
the nest cavity / site

Q:Will the eldest/most advanced fledgling follow the adults out on hunting trips before its siblings are able to?

Q:If BO's can breed at 1 year old, then at what stage are they ousted from the parents territory? (ive read they only generally go 20km in first year?)

---------------------------------------

We have an excellent raised vantage point on an escarpment here & have watched with some amusement as we've tracked the adults fly through streets & gardens, even between gable ends of semi-detached houses(!) to get to favoured feeding areas.

On several occasions the adults have caught prey early in the evening & imediately spiraled up to great heights, before making a bee-line for the nest site in a quarry adjacent to our elevated watchpoint. (1,600 linear metres between nest & hunting ground)
We presume this is a strategy to avoid being mobbed / robbed of prey items during daylight conditions, as when dusk arrives the birds fly in low in a more "regular fashion", even coming in over the gates of the quarry entrance.

Using the heights above see level of the watchpoint & the hunting site, its been worked out that birds were travelling back at well in excess of 260 feet above the meadows....:eek!: