• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

8x30 E II vs Contemporary Binos (1 Viewer)

perseid28

I considered adding this post to the giant E II thread, but maybe it would be better to start a new one.

For those of you who own or have owned an 8x30 E II, how does it compare to other modern binoculars you've tried, particularly the the Conquest HD and similar models? I'm looking to replace my 8x32 Conquest HD with something a bit cheaper, but hopefully having close to the same optical and mechanical quality. I've been eyeing the E IIs for a few years now, but wanted to get people's opinions before I buy a pair sight-unseen from a Japanese retailer (probably with no return policy). Is the glare control and contrast on par with the Zeiss Conquest and Terra Roofs? Have you ever had issues with fungus inside the binoculars, or collimation? Thanks in advance.

We have the 8x EII and the 8x32 Conquest HD. IMO the build quality of the EII surpasses that of the Zeiss, although this is admittedly from my impressions of how they feel in the hand, and not because one broke down when the other didn't. The EII just feels like a more precisely-made object to me. IMO the EII has slightly better contrast and a slightly warmer color than the Zeiss. Obviously the Nikon has a wider FOV. I think that the Zeiss is slightly sharper in the central area, but not to an extent that is actually useable. The Nikon's focus wheel feels a bit more precise, but it is also slightly harder to turn. Both are fine for me. I haven't been able to asses glare control between the two.