• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

8X42 or 10x42 Binoculars (1 Viewer)

I prefer 7x or 8x. I think 10x is too hard to hold steady, and you get less field of view with a 10x. I keep higher magnifications on my scope, and lower on my binocular.

The choice depends really on what is going to be your main thrust with birding. If you intend to stick to mainly woodland habitat then go for the 8x, bigger FOV and brighter image, however if you are mainly watching across bodies of water then the extra mag of the 10x can be handy.
I've been using 10x42 roof prisms for about 15 years now with reasonable success but I do notice that in woodland I don't pick up birds as easily as those using the 8x bins. I'm now thinking of getting a second pair at 8x mag and only taking out the 10x if going to coast or reservoir.

It's a personal decision. Best to try and see what you prefer.

Personally, I agree with Kristoffer and avoid 10x for the reasons he gives--lower mags are also brighter, and the bins are lighter with better eye relief. In practice, I think it is quite rare that the slightly higher mag of a 10x would help you ID anything better. In any event, I almost always carry my scope with me, so if I need higher mag that is what I use--and of course the dramatically higher mag of a scope can frequently make a difference in your ability to ID.

Best,
Jim