• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Best Bird Guides? (1 Viewer)

Ryan

Hello all- Let me apologize in advance if this post is in the wrong area or has been addresses a billion times already. Anyhow, Im moving this summer from Southern Japan to Central Coastal California (Monterey to be exact) can anyone suggest a good field guide for this area that makes ID simple- as I am a true novice. Thanks.

Sibley guide, Western version. If you feel that is too many birds, try Peterson First Guide, but you will soon see Sibley as more useful.

I have little experinece with shore birds therre in CA, but the Sibley should cover that too.

Ryan said:
Hello all- Let me apologize in advance if this post is in the wrong area or has been addresses a billion times already. Anyhow, Im moving this summer from Southern Japan to Central Coastal California (Monterey to be exact) can anyone suggest a good field guide for this area that makes ID simple- as I am a true novice. Thanks.

Two great guides for any part of the western US would be the "Sibley Guide to Birds" and Peterson's "Western Birds." The Peterson guide might be a little easier to use at first than the Sibley because it prominently shows the field marks that distinguish each species. It's also about 2 pounds lighter than the Sibley's! :)

However, since you'll be in Monterey where albatrosses, petrels, fulmars, etc., and other normally pelagic birds can be occasionally seen from shore, I would also highly recommend Rich Stallcup's "Birds of the Nearshore Pacific."