• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Good bird watching camera to film 4K videos with zoom (3 Viewers)

Hello everyone. I am new to the Bird Forum and would like to learn more about cameras for bird watching. I am interested in a good camera that films 4K videos with a good zoom feature, since some of the birds I see are 200-400 yards away. I usually film with my GoPro camera or cellphone camera, so this will be my first camera specially for filming birds and other wildlife. I would appreciate any help you guys can offer me about beginner cameras that film in 4K with a good zoom to film birds.

A lot of newer m43 cameras are able to shoot in 4k as far as I know. If you want something a little less complicated, I would look at the panasonic bridge camera lineup. Disclaimer: i do not shoot in 4k and therefore am only trying to remember what I read.
Niels

Thank you responding njlarsen. Which m43 cameras would you recommend? I did some research on Panasonic bridge cameras, which one do you recommend? Would like a camera that can take some nice pictures and video of birds 200-400 yards away.

Good question with multiple answers.
Decent Overall Choice: Nikon P1000-This is called a "Bridge Camera". It is digital with the most amazing zoom features of any camera, 3000mm. you will need a tripod for that length. It has certain features similar to a DSLR but has a permanent fixed lens. About $750-$850 brand new.