• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Seeking Help with Identifying and Restoring Habicht DV 8x30 Binoculars (1 Viewer)

Zasvasta

Bosnia and Herzegovina
Hello fellow bird enthusiasts,

I hope this post finds you all in good spirits. I come to this knowledgeable community seeking advice and guidance regarding a pair of binoculars that hold both sentimental and potentially historical significance.

I recently stumbled upon an old Habicht DV 8x30 binoculars while going through my late grandfather's belongings. I have limited knowledge about binoculars, but I believe this community's expertise can help shed some light on their history and condition.

My uncle mentioned that these binoculars could be my grandfather's military service equipment from the 1950s. However, I'm uncertain about their exact age and origins. The serial code of the binoculars is 19274. I tried using the tables from one of the threads on this forum to decipher their age, but I'm finding it a bit challenging. If anyone could guide me on how to interpret these tables or provide insights based on the serial code, I would greatly appreciate it.

Unfortunately, the binoculars are not in the best condition. I'm interested in restoring and cleaning them to potentially bring them back to their former glory. I reached out to Swarovski Optik's customer service, but they informed me that they do not work with binoculars older than 1985. I'm uncertain whether mine falls within this category. Swarovski requested photos for a more accurate assessment, but I'm currently on a summer trip and unable to provide them at the moment.