• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Some pics from a complete novice..... (1 Viewer)

Shot on 7D with a EF-S 55-250mm mostly at full range.

I have been reading up advice from other threads regarding BIF, exposure, iso, and such. The thing is for me is that I want to take pictures that I can do realistic paintings from, so they need a good amount of detail. I do have some problems though in that I have no idea about altering settings while out in the field. So far I have had the camera set at full auto with me manually focusing. I'm wondering if I can program it to have some of the best settings in C1, C2, and C3, so that I can just flick to these instead of fiddling when out shooting. I have trouble with my hands, especially in the cold, and they can stop working for finer/quicker adjustments. I'm also struggling at retaining information that I read long term due to medication too, so pre setting would be great. Otherwise I fear the birds will be gone by the time I'm ready!

Any advice greatly appreciated, and any comments on the pics.

The BIF was my first proper try, and basically me just practicing following the bird. It was rather far away. They have had nothing done to them editing wise except cropping.

Suzanne

Attachments

• IMG_2049crop copy.jpg
    IMG_2049crop copy.jpg
    216.7 KB · Views: 165
  • IMG_2048crop.jpg
    IMG_2048crop.jpg
    71.9 KB · Views: 80
  • IMG_1824crop.jpg
    IMG_1824crop.jpg
    101 KB · Views: 147
  • IMG_1737crop.jpg
    IMG_1737crop.jpg
    334.8 KB · Views: 118
  • IMG_1910crop.jpg
    IMG_1910crop.jpg
    109.4 KB · Views: 115