• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Do people count ringed birds on their lists? (1 Viewer)

Retrodaz

I'm relatively new to list keeping, so I don't know the ins and outs. Do people include ringed birds on their lists? It seems to me that some might consider it cheating.

Do people include ringed birds on their lists? It seems to me that some might consider it cheating.

I don't think anyone would not include a bird on their lists just because it had been ringed elsewhere, some might be 'uncomfortable' including a bird 'in the hand' - I certainly was when my first Pallas' Warbler was shown to me at Old Fall hedge Flamborough just after it had been ringed. When I eventually saw one in Sussex a few years later it felt like a lifer somehow (although I'd put the Flamborough one on my list of course ;))

Never seen a problem with it personally. Great chance to study a bird up close. Not quite sure why so many people get on their high horses about it

Its down to personal choice really - I have a Thrush Nightingale "only" seen in the hand at Spurn Obs (though I did find it earlier on but just could'nt get a sight of it), an similarly a 1stW Western Subalpine Warbler at Hilbre Island. ALso seen Greenish Warbler and YB Warbler in the hand, though I also saw those in flight and around bushes.

All are on my list, some might not like the idea of them being on your list, though I have no problem with them being on. Would always try to see them out of the hand too. But not always possible.