• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Bluethroat in the UK? (2 Viewers)

tigglestiger

Hi all,

I am very new to birding and in my eyes one of the prettiest birds is the Bluethroat. I have seen some pictures of Uk sightings but still they seem very rare on UK shores.

Can anyone tell me when would be my best chance for a sighting.

Thanks

Graham

Your best chance would be in the autumn on the east coast, though they aren't as frequent as they once were. Keep an eye on local bird news. The only snag is that they wont be brightly coloured at that time of year. A few do turn up in spring though, and even more rarely there will be one summering which would be your best chance of seeing one in breeding plumage.

Your best chance is to go to the continent though, I believe that they are moderately common in reed beds in the Netherlands for example.

we've had them at Upton warren, Worcestershire in April/May.Mind you we have only had 2 (2011 and 1981). Not bad for an inland county and yes great birds. East coast in Autumn best bet, but unpredictable. But in best plumage in spring
B :)John

Is the bright blue only during spring and summer?

Adults show variable amounts of blue in the autumn - increasing through the winter. In fact adult males wintering here in Portugal can often be spectacular - and regularly sing in the sunshine ;)

However, in the UK most autumn birds are 1st yr migrants (apparently decreasing in numbers in recent years) and are without any, or hardly any, blue - still very nice birds though.