• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Canon EOS 80D always slightly "fuzzy" (1 Viewer)

Oooopossum

United States
Hello!

I am an avid birdwatcher and photographer for a little over a year now and I have absolutely loved using my Canon EOS 80D for it. I have recently been trying to up my game and increase the quality of my shots by reading guides and tutorials. I have been trying to get better in flight shots with this camera but have struggled becuase most of the Shots come out "fuzzy" or marginally out of focus. I was wondering if maybe I have my settings wrong, chasing the wrong lens, or even shooting the photos wrong. Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated! See the attached images for reference. The lens I use for these shots is a Canon EF-S 55-250mm F4-5.6 IS STM.
These are the settings I have been attempting to use:
  • Tv shooting mode at 250mm
  • f/5.6
  • 1/1000 exposure
  • Center-weighted average metering
  • AI Servo AF
  • High Speed Continuous or sometimes Low Speed Continuous Shooting Drive modes
  • Auto ISO
  • Auto (0) Exposure Comp
  • Ambience Priority WB
  • Neutral image effects
  • Large Zone AF
The photos come out in focus, but are weirdly fuzzy around the details. See in the images attached the Osprey's eyes. They're clearly somewhat in focus but not quite there. I checked the Lens and the sensor for any damage or smudges and they're clean. I care for this camera and lens religiously so I am fairly confident it's not that. Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!

Attachments

• IMG_1425 copy.JPG
    IMG_1425 copy.JPG
    143.7 KB · Views: 63