• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Renewed "focus", thus new bins. (1 Viewer)

Ichthusfixer

First post for me, but have visited the sight several times.

I've been birding for a few years now, but only recently have I renewed my focus on this hobby. My body is beat up from previous hobbies, and I can't do what I used to do. But I can't sit still either. So birding is now going to get more time than it has in the past. With that decision being made, I want to seriously upgrade my binoculars. I have the 8x42 Vortex Sidewinders, but want to jump up to swarovski, zeiss, or leica's.

I want to know if there is someone that has used the Swarovision 10x50 EL and the Zeiss 10x42 Victory HT side by side, or have owned both. And if so, is the cost difference really worth it for the EL's? The Leica Ultravids, well, I don't really know much about them at all, but have seen them in the same conversations as the EL's and the HT's, but only mentioned briefly.

So those are the three I have narrowed it down to. Has anyone used 2 of the 3 personally? I do not have the ability to try them side by side, or look through them before buying.

Thanks for the help!

Last edited:
First post for me, but have visited the sight several times.