• Welcome to BirdForum, the internet's largest birding community with thousands of members from all over the world. The forums are dedicated to wild birds, birding, binoculars and equipment and all that goes with it.

Please register for an account to take part in the discussions in the forum, post your pictures in the gallery and more.
ZEISS DTI thermal imaging cameras. For more discoveries at night, and during the day.

Leica trinovoid advice please (1 Viewer)

Milgrip

United Kingdom
Hi, I live in the UK and after researching this forum for binocular specs, would like some rough advice on prices.

What should I expect to be a reasonable price to pay for the following Leica binoculars? (I am new to the reality of quality binoculars) and don't want to be taken for a ride.

These are the two on my wish list.

I have the option to buy Trinovid 8x42 BN no case etc , just the binoculars in so called good condition.

If any around, Trinovid 7x42 BN Blue Binoculars, the marine type, with all the original attachments , in excellent condition,

Would really appreciate your comments on what I would be expected to pay.

Welcome.... very dependant on condition, but good BN's are upwards of £500. More for mint examples with case/accessories etc.
Check ebay, and Ace Optics, Focalpoint optics, Birders Store.... just a few examples.

The Marine Blue model would be a collectors piece and command a premium price, especially if it has the original box, warranty cards and user manual. It is quite rare to have one come up for sale. I would not be at all surprised to see an asking price of £1500 plus.
The other unit, with unscratched lenses and coatings, original strap and rainguard....£400 - £500 max

NB. Bear in mind that spares for these are now fairly scarce, particularly if the 8 x 42 needs rearmouring or servicing / recollimation. Only one person I would trust to do the work, currently living in Norfolk.